1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Jean-Pierre Gibrat and “Flight of the Raven” nominated for Two Eisner Awards!

The lush watercolors of the French artist Jean-Pierre Gibrat have earned him two Eisner award nominations for his first graphic novel to be translated into English.

Flight of the Raven, published by the EuroComics imprint of IDW and translated by Diana Schutz and Brandon Kander, is up for Best U.S. Edition of International Material. Gibrat is also nominated in the Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art) category.

The artist has previously received the Best Artist Award at the Angoulême Festival.

The Christian Science Monitor calls Flight of the Raven, “One of the most memorable graphic novels of the past decade…. Each page is lushly illustrated in gorgeous watercolors.” The story takes place in Paris during the German Occupation and stars a memorable heroine—the French Resistance fighter named Jeanne.

EuroComics/IDW has also just released Gibrat’s The Reprieve, the prequel to Flight of the Raven. “From the moment I saw Flight of the Raven in its original French edition, I wanted to bring Jean-Pierre’s work to America,” says EuroComics editor Dean Mullaney. “We’ve also contracted for his current series—Mattéo. The first volume will be on sale in December. Jean-Pierre is working on the fifth and final volume in that series that follows the titular protagonist through the major conflicts of the first half of the Twentieth Century…so readers have plenty of his work to look forward to.”

And we’d be remiss if we didn’t mention that our sister imprint—The Library of American Comics—received a nomination for Star Wars Classic Newspaper Strips by Russ Manning!

Winners of the 2018 Eisner Awards will be announced in July at the San Diego Comic-Con International.

QUEST OF EWLIAN Press Release and Preview Pages

IDW EuroComics Proudly Announces
First Volume in THE QUEST OF EWILAN Series

Bestselling Pierre Bottero Novels Adapted to Gorgeous Graphic Novels,
Providing First Visuals of the World of Gwendalavir Before Feature Film

SAN DIEGO, CA (April 17, 2018) — EuroComics proudly presents the English-language debut of The Quest of Ewilan, Vol. 1: From One World to Another, the first chapter in the sequential adaption of Pierre Bottero’s bestselling novel series and a whimsical adventure featuring strong female characters, in the tradition of Lewis’ Narnia and L’Engle’s Time Quartet. Scripted by Lylian and illustrated by Laurence Baldetti, The Quest of Ewilan, Vol. 1 will be available in stores in September.

In this epic grand fantasy, 13-year-old Camille’s life is forever changed when, trying to avoid an oncoming truck, she passes through a portal to a parallel world called Gwendalavir. She’s immediately threatened by creatures called Ts’liches, who claim that they’ve been searching for her so they can kill her! Luckily she’s zapped back home, but her best friend Salim is skeptical of her story…until giant spiders attack them from the other side. Once back in Gwendalavir, she learns that she is originally from that other world, the daughter of two powerful magicians who sent her to our world for her own protection. Camille has inherited a tremendous gift — magic drawing, the ability to manifest things by creating a mental image of them. As the battle for two worlds intensifies, she hones the skills that might be a decisive weapon in the struggle of her people to regain power and restore freedom and dignity to Gwendalavir. Continue Reading →

Episode 006 with special guest Michael Barrier

Dean Mullaney and Kurtis Findlay are back with another episode of the Library of American Comics & EuroComics Podcast!

In this episode, Dean and Kurtis discuss Skippy, Vol. 4, Treasury of Classic Tales, Vol. 3, and The Reprieve. Plus, animation historian Michael Barrier tells us about some of his favorite stories from Walt Disney’s Treasury of Classic Tales!

Subscribe on iTunes

We love Gibrat!

A single advance copy of THE REPRIEVE by the incredible Jean-Pierre Gibrat just arrived at the offices. Here’s a photo with the companion volume FLIGHT OF THE RAVEN. “Repreive” will be on sale in a few weeks!

Episode 005 with special guest Eddie Campbell

Dean Mullaney and Kurtis Findlay are back with another episode of the Library of American Comics & EuroComics Podcast!

In this episode, Dean and Kurtis discuss LOAC Essentials, Vol. 11: Tippie, The Goat Getters, and Violette Around the World, Vol. 1. Plus, cartoonist Eddie Campbell reveals all about his upcoming book, The Goat Getters!

Subscribe on iTunes